Bookmark Bookmark

One Liners of the Day, 11 July 2019

Days in Focus

  • World Tesla Day, Nikola Tesla Day - 10 July.


  • For various tenors with effect from on July 11, the marginal cost of funds-based leading rate (MCLR) has been cut by the Oriental Bank of Commerce (OBC) by - up to 10 basis point (bps).
  • Minimum interest rate of a bank below which it cannot lend - Marginal cost of funds-based leading rate (MCLR).


  • World's most expensive market for prime office rents, according annual Global Prime Office Occupancy Costs survey by CBRE - Hong Kong's Central district (occupancy costs valued at USD 322 per sq.ft).
  • JinkoSolar Holding Co Ltd, World’s largest solar plant of 1,177MWp, has started at - Sweihan in Abu Dhabi (Jointly developed by Japan’s Marubeni Corp. and UAE).
  • Legendary Pakistani actor who passed away on July 9 - Zaheen Tahira.
  • The fourteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the UN Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD COP 14) is scheduled to take place from 2-13 September 2019 in - Greater Noida, New Delhi, India.


  • Ninthmost expensive office location in the world with an annual rent of nearly USD 144 per sq ft, according annual Global Prime Office Occupancy Costs survey by CBRE - New Delhi's Connaught Place (CP).

Persons in News

  • New head of the Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) under the Ministry of Civil Aviation - Arun Kumar.
  • Chairman and Managing Director of Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited (BSNL) - Pravin Kumar Purwar.


  • Gold medal winner in women's 100-metre sprint event at the 30th Summer University Games in Italy – sprinter Dutee Chand (first Indian)
  • Winner of the AIFF Men's Footballer of the Year 2018-19 - Sunil Chhetri.
  • Winner of the AIFF Women's Footballer of the Year 2018-19 - Ashalata Devi.
  • Indian weightlifter who won a gold medal in the senior women’s 49 kg event at the Commonwealth Weightlifting Championship 2019 - Mirabai Chanu.
  • Former India goalkeeper who passed away on July 9 – A. U. Celestine.

Science and Technology

  • India’s “AI4Bharat”, a platform for Artificial Intelligence (AI) solutions to solve real-world challenges, is developed by - Indian Institute of Technology, Madras (founded by Mitesh M. Khapra and Pratyush Kumar).

General Knowledge

  • All India Football Federation (AIFF) - Formed in – 1937; Headquarters: Dwarka, Delhi.
  • United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD) – Established in: 1994; Secretariat: Bonn (Germany).
  • Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited (BSNL) was established in – 2000.

You might be interested:

Former India goalkeeper Celestine died

Former India goalkeeper A U Celestine died. He was 73.He had represented India in the Merdeka Cup in Malaysia in 1969. The tall Celestine represented Tamil Nadu and was considered one of the state's t ...

3 years ago

India to host UN conference on land degradation, desertification

India is set to host the 14th Conference of the Parties (COP) from September 02 to 13, confirmed Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change Prakash Javadekar. The global conference will be hos ...

3 years ago

Pravin Kumar Purwar appointed as CMD BSNL

Pravin Kumar Purwar has been appointed as the Chairman and Managing Director of Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited (BSNL). Purwar is at present CMD of Mahanagar Telephone Nigam Limited (MTNL). He has been a ...

3 years ago

Arun Kumar appointed as DGCA chief

Arun Kumar, additional secretary in the Ministry of Civil Aviation, will now be holding the full-time charge of the head of aviation regulator DGCA. The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has appro ...

3 years ago

Pakistani veteran actor Zaheen Tahira dies

Legendary Pakistani actor Zaheen Tahira passed away. She was 79. One of the most senior actors in the history of Pakistan's television, Tahira starred in over 700 drama serials in lead and supporting ...

3 years ago

Chhetri named AIFF Player of the Year for sixth time

Talismanic Indian captain Sunil Chhetri has been named as the AIFF Men's Footballer of the Year for a record-extending sixth time. Chhetri has earlier won the honour in 2007, 2011, 2013, 2014 and 2017 ...

3 years ago

Provide your feedback on this article: