Bookmark Bookmark

Pulitzer Prize 2022: Full list of winners

The winners of the Pulitzer Prize 2022 in Journalism, Books, Drama, and Music were announced on May 9. The journalists from Ukraine were also recognized with a 2022 Pulitzer Prize special citation.

The Pulitzer Prize is an award for achievements in the field of newspaper, online journalism, magazine, literature and musical composition within the United States. It was established in the year 1917 by provisions in the will of Joseph Pulitzer, who had made his fortune as a newspaper publisher, and is administered by Columbia University.


The full list of winners in Journalism, Drama, Books and Music and their awards:

Public Service:

  1. The Washington Post for its account of the assault on Washington on January 6, 2021.

Breaking News Reporting:

  1. The staff of the Miami Herald for its coverage of the collapse of the Seaside apartment towers in Florida.

Investigative Reporting:

  1. Corey G. Johnson, Rebecca Woolington, and Eli Murray of the Tampa Bay Times for exposing highly toxic hazard inside only battery recycling plant in Florida.

Explanatory Reporting

  1. Staff of Quanta Magazine, notably Natalie Wolchover, for reporting on how the Webb Space Telescope works.

Local Reporting

  1. Madison Hopkins of the Better Government Association and Cecilia Reyes of the Chicago Tribune for an examination of Chicago’s long history of failed building and fire safety code enforcement.

National Reporting

  1. The staff of The New York Times for a project that quantified a disturbing pattern of fatal traffic stops by police.

International Reporting

  1. The staff of The New York Times for reporting that exposed the vast civilian tolls of US-led airstrikes, challenging official accounts of American military engagements in Iraq, Syria and Afghanistan.

Feature Writing

  1. Jennifer Senior of The Atlantic for a portrayal of a family’s reckoning of loss in the 20 years since 9/11.

Editorial Writing

  1. Lisa Falkenberg, Michael Lindenberger, Joe Holley and Luis Carrasco of the Houston Chronicle for a campaign that, with original reporting, revealed voter suppression tactics, rejected the myth of widespread voter fraud and argued for sensible voting reforms.

Illustrated Reporting and Commentary

  1. Fahmida Azim, Anthony Del Col, Josh Adams and Walt Hickey of Insider for a comic on an Uyghur internment camp.

Breaking News Photography

  1. Marcus Yam of the Los Angeles Times for raw and urgent images of the US departure from Afghanistan.
  2. Win McNamee, Drew Angerer, Spencer Platt, Samuel Corum and Jon Cherry of Getty Images for comprehensive and consistently riveting photos of the attack on the US capitol.

Feature Photography:

  1. Late Danish Siddiqui of Reuters, Adnan Abidi, Sanna Irshad Mattoo, and Amit Dave for images of COVID toll in India.

Audio Reporting:

  1. Staffs of Futuro Media and PRX for ‘Suave’- an immersive profile of a man re-entering society after more than 30 years in Prison.


  1. The Netanyahus: An Account of a Minor and Ultimately Even Negligible Episode in the History of a Very Famous Family, by Joshua Green.


  1. Fat Ham, by James Ijames.


  1. Covered with Night, by Nicole Eustace and Cuba: An American History, by Ada Ferrer.


  1. Chasing Me to My Grave: An Artist’s Memoir of the Jim Crow South, by the late Winfred Rembert as told to Erin I. Kelly.


  1. frank: sonnets, by Diane Seuss.


  1. Voiceless Mass, by Raven Chacon.

You might be interested:

India’s first Regional Rapid Transit System train is all set to be handed over to NCRTC at Savli in Gujarat

The National Capital Region Transport Corporation (NCRTC) received India’s first semi-high speed train set for Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS) at Alstom’s Savli project in Gujarat on ...

3 months ago

Daily News Digest:11 May 2022

One Liners of the Day, 10 May 2022India’s first Regional Rapid Transit System train is all set to be handed over to NCRTC at Savli in Gujarat The National Capital Region Transport Corporation (NCRTC ...

3 months ago

One Liners of the Day, 10 May 2022

Venkataramani Sumantran was appointed as the chairman of the Board of Directors of InterGlobe Aviation. World Athletics Day is celebrated every year across the globe on the 7th of May. Open, a Bengal ...

3 months ago

Rajasthan is the first state to surpass 10 GW solar capacity

According to Mercom’s India Solar Project Tracker, Rajasthan has become the first state in India to reach 10 GW of cumulative large-scale solar installations. The state has a total installed pow ...

3 months ago

Open- 100th unicorn start-up

Open, a Bengaluru-based neobank platform, has become the 100th unicorn start-up in India. Commerce & Industry Ministry stated that one out of every 10 unicorns born globally belongs to India.  ...

3 months ago

The Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation’s(IRCTC) is all set to start Bharat Gaurav Tourist Train on 21st June 2022

Indian Railways will start the Bharat Gaurav Tourist Train's first journey on June 21, 2022, along the Ramayana Circuit, which takes the tourist to places associated with the birth of Lord Ram's life ...

3 months ago

Provide your feedback on this article: