TET Exams

Teacher Eligibility Test, as the name suggests is an eligibility test for those who wish to make a career as Upper Primary and Lower Primary Teachers.

To simplify, a Primary Teacher is the one teaching Classes I to V and the one teaching Classes V to VIII is the Upper Primary Teacher.

Evaluate yourself with Free Mock Test for FREE

CTET Paper I : Hindi/English

CTET Paper II (Maths/Science) :  Hindi/English

CTET Paper II (Social Studies) : Hindi/English

TET : Introduction, Application Procedure, Eligibility , Number of Attempts , Qualifying Marks , Validity Period , Preparation Strategy.


National Council for Teacher Education (NCTE) has laid down basis minimum criteria for an aspiring teacher to be eligible for appointment as a teacher for class I to VIII. NCTE has framed certain guidelines for “Teacher Eligibility Test” (TET) to be conducted by the appropriate governments.

The need to conduct the TET exams – The rationale behind including the TET as a minimum qualification for aspiring teachers are as follows –

1) Benchmarking in the selection process

2) Standardization in the selection process

3) Identification of improvement areas for desired skill sets in teachers

What is TET (Teacher Eligibility Test)?

This test is primarily qualifying in nature and is mandatory for aspiring teachers willing to teach in government schools run by central and states governments. Primarily, there are two types of teaching examinations take place –

1) CTET (Central Teacher Eligibility Test) – This test is conducted by CBSE (Central Board of Secondary Education) and is mandatory for those who aspire to be teachers with schools run by Central government (NVS, KVS, Central Tibetan Schools etc.) and schools run by UTs (Union Territories)

2) State TET – States primarily conduct their own TET for those candidates who aspire to be teachers with schools under their control. However, a state can consider CTET in case it decides not to conduct the state TET

Levels in TETs – There are two levels of TETs. A candidate may choose either or both of the tests.

1) Level 1 Test – This test is conducted for those who aspire to become a Primary teacher (Class I to V).

2) Level 2 Test – These tests are conducted for those who aspire to become a Secondary Teacher (Class VI to VIII).


What is the validity period of TET Score card ?

For all the categories (General, OBC, SC/ST), the total validity period for TET qualifying certificates is 7 years from the date of declaration of result.


Maximum Number of Attempts in TET exam

There is no restriction in terms of number of attempts. The candidates can also retake the test to improve their score.


Various Details pertaining to TET 

 Level of Exam

Eligibility Criteria

Relaxation in     Marks

Upper Age Limit in years

Age Relaxation in years


Class I to V

Senior Secondary (at least 50%) + Passed/Appearing in 2 year diploma

5% relaxation in qualifying marks for SC/ST/OBC/PWD candidates

General – 37

OBC– 40

SC/ST/PWD – 42



OBC– 3

SC/ST /PWD – 5



Class VI to VIII

Graduation ( at least 50%) + passed appearing in 1 year B.Ed.

5% relaxation in qualifying marks for SC/ST/OBC/PWD candidates


General – 37

OBC– 40

SC/ST – 42  


OBC– 3

SC/ST /PWD – 5


Does TET exam have qualifying marks?

Yes, it is 60% of the total marks. In fact, all the candidates get their Marks Statement but Eligibility Certificate is issued to all the Candidates who secured 60% or above.

Do all the states conduct their TET exams?

Almost all the states conduct their respective TET exams but this is not binding in nature. A state may opt for CTET for Teachers Recruitment, in case it decides not to conduct its own TET.


CTET Syllabus and Exam Pattern 2016 (Paper 1 and Paper 2)

CTET Preparation Tips 2016

How to score 100+ Marks in CTET 2016

CTET Last Minute Preparation Tips 2016




Provide Comments